Social Networking and students

I’ve been following an interesting debate on OZTL_NET lately about the use of social networking sites like Facebook. There has been a lot of debate about privacy, copyright, online safety and the place of TLs and teachers/ schools/ parents in the teaching of online safety. I don’t think this issue is going to go away any time soon.

Food for thought is this YouTube video about how prospective employers use social networking sites to research job applicants.

About robynstlreflections

I never expected to become a teacher. After graduating from Sydney Univeristy with a BA (Hons), I worked for a couple of years before "going bush". When I started working as a governess I discovered that I enjoyed teaching, so studied for a Grad Dip Ed. After teaching in public schools in the Northern Territory for two years then in Queensland for 10 more, I moved back to NSW with my family in 2009. Now it's time for a change in direction. I've always enjoyed introducing my students discover the joys of literature and I'm excited by the educational possibilities developing in the digital world. So in 2010 I've begun studying by Distance Education for a Masters in Education in Teacher Librarianship with Charles Sturt University.
This entry was posted in Teacher Librarian (general) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Social Networking and students

  1. Natalie Copeland says:

    I think Ning is a much better alternative to Facebook. In Catholic Education Office Sydney we are not allowed to use facebook with students for obvious reasons, I don’t think students are supposed to sign up until 16 years of age anyway. Ning allows you(teacher) to be administrator or a PRIVATE social network. I think this is a much safer alternative to myspace and facebook.

    • I’ve recently had an issue when a primary school student from a school I used to work in contacted my young son via my personal Facebook page. I was in a bit of a quandry – to reply or not? In the end, I acted as an intermediary for a brief online conversation between the two kids, but didn’t add the child to my ‘friends’ when she asked me to do so.
      This situation brought home for me the perils for teachers in this situation. Facebook and the like are SO public!
      My understanding is that the age restriction for Facebook is 13 years and over, though I haven’t checked this. I also heard a discussion at our local TL network meeting that we have a duty of care as teachers to notify Facebook if we see a child we know under 13 on the site. According to my son, his ex-classmate is a year older than him, so would be 13 now.
      The whole situation forced me to think harder about my own online presence.

Leave a Reply

