Testing, testing: 1, 2, 3 … er … poll! – OLJ3

This blog gives me a good chance to test out some of the social networking (SN) tools I’ve been exploring for my first assignment for INF506. Although I’ve examined their use in class blogs and evaluated how effectively they can be used to enhance the curriculum (which is the focus of my case study report), I haven’t tried all of them out before. So, time for a try out.

This is an application I’ve examined that’s used for creating polls or surveys. It’s called Pollmo. I can see all sorts of potential for such a tool in a class blog – everything from surveys for maths lessons on statistics and graphing, to ratings for books or movies, to stating preferences and opinions.

It’s also one of the easiest SN tools I’ve found! 3 steps and you’re there. So easy, I think a Stage 1 student could do it (with some help for the final step).

  1. Type your question
  2. Type your answer choices
  3. Choose a skin

You can then either link your blog to the URL created for your unique, or copy and paste the HTML code into your blog (which is what I’ve tried).

How easy is that!

<!–BEGIN POLLMO POLL–>View Qualtrics Poll
Qualtrics Survey Software
Enterprise Feedback Management

Update: So much for “how easy is that”! I’ve obviously got a bit to learn about embedding HTML text in my blog. I guess it’s time to read the manual.

On a more positive note, the poll really DID display in it’s own URL. And if you click “view Qualtrics Poll”, you can get to it. It doesn’t look as pretty though 😦

Maybe I should have just linked to it. I’ll have to keep trying. You know the saying – if at first you don’t succeed …

Here is a screenshot of what my poll should look like.

 

Create your own poll with Pollmo

 

 

About robynstlreflections

I never expected to become a teacher. After graduating from Sydney Univeristy with a BA (Hons), I worked for a couple of years before "going bush". When I started working as a governess I discovered that I enjoyed teaching, so studied for a Grad Dip Ed. After teaching in public schools in the Northern Territory for two years then in Queensland for 10 more, I moved back to NSW with my family in 2009. Now it's time for a change in direction. I've always enjoyed introducing my students discover the joys of literature and I'm excited by the educational possibilities developing in the digital world. So in 2010 I've begun studying by Distance Education for a Masters in Education in Teacher Librarianship with Charles Sturt University.
This entry was posted in INF506 Social Networking for InfoProf, MEdTL studies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

