My Personal Learning Network – OLJ9

I believe I am at Stage 1 (Immersion) of Utecht’s 5 stages of PLN adoption (Utecht, 2008) – I feel driven to find out more and particularly to check my Twitter and Yammer feeds at least daily. But I am beginning to drop some Twitter “follows” that aren’t specific enough for my interests and to narrow my focus, so think I am moving into Stage 2 (Evaluation). I’m also having Stage 4 (Perspective) moments, particularly when family demands are high.

My PLN consists of:

  • teaching colleagues in my school and professional development providers. These are the people I go to day-to-day for professional advice and in some cases, for personal friendship.
  • professional blogs, which I manage through the use of RSS feeds.
  • MEd(TL) students and lecturers
  • membership of the OZTL-NET list-server
  • educators on Twitter (only joined since beginning INF506) who I ‘follow’ and educators who tweet using hash tags such as #tlchat and #austl
  • NSW Department of Education colleagues on Yammer (joined in late 2010) – I now belong to several Yammer interest groups

The impact of this rapid expansion of my PLN in the past few months, since joining Yammer and Twitter, has had both positive and negative effects on me professionally and personally. These are:

Positive effects:

  • connection with like-minded colleagues local, nationally and globally
  • exposure to national and global trends in education (expanding my universe)
  • opportunities to attend professional development activities I wasn’t even aware of before (e.g. online conferences)
  • sense of community – these people are interested in the same things as me, have the same questions as me and struggle with the same issues as me
  • inspiration – every time I check my Twitter or Yammer feeds on my mobile phone (which I do at least every couple of days) I have a “wow” moment

Negative effects:

  • Lack of time to explore more deeply – as my network has expanded, I don’t have time to follow up every lead
  • Frustration with moving from inspiration into practice – opportunities to explore web 2.0 tools with students are limited by filters and my current status as a casual TAFE teacher
  • There is never enough time to follow up during working hours, so tension develops when my professional demands conflict with my family commitments

Gaps in my PLN

Current:

  • how to develop e-learning programs and related tools (e.g. Moodle)
  • how to engage ‘at risk’ learners using web 2.0 tools

Future:

  • Practicalities of day-to-day TL work in primary schools

 

References

Utecht, J. (2008, 7 January 2011). Stages of PLN Adoption. http://www.thethinkingstick.com/stages-of-pln-adoption.

Here is my meme map of my Personal Learning Network.

About robynstlreflections

I never expected to become a teacher. After graduating from Sydney Univeristy with a BA (Hons), I worked for a couple of years before "going bush". When I started working as a governess I discovered that I enjoyed teaching, so studied for a Grad Dip Ed. After teaching in public schools in the Northern Territory for two years then in Queensland for 10 more, I moved back to NSW with my family in 2009. Now it's time for a change in direction. I've always enjoyed introducing my students discover the joys of literature and I'm excited by the educational possibilities developing in the digital world. So in 2010 I've begun studying by Distance Education for a Masters in Education in Teacher Librarianship with Charles Sturt University.
This entry was posted in INF506 Social Networking for InfoProf, MEdTL studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

